p53 Information

p53 information

p53 story

p53 monoclonal antibodies

p53 pathways

p53 gene

p53 protein(s)

modifications of p53

p53 isoforms

p53 partners






mdm family

p63/p73 protein(s)

p53 evolution

p53 polymorphism

p53 and cancer

mouse models

ASPP family


The p53 Protein

More information on p53 protein can be found in the sub menu on the left

Human p53 protein (Hp53) can be divided into five domains, each corresponding to specific functions:

I) The amino-terminus part 1-42 contains the acidic transactivation domain and the mdm2 protein binding site. It also contains the Highly Conserved Domain I (HCD I)
II) Region 40-92 contains series repeated proline residues that are conserved in the majority of p53. it also contains a second transactivation domain.
III) The central region (101-306) contains the DNA binding domain. It is the target of 90% of p53 mutations found in human cancers. It contains HCD II to V.
IV) The oligomerization domain (307-355, 4D) consists of a beta-strand, followed by an alpha-helix necessary for dimerization, as p53 is composed of a dimer of two dimers. A nuclear export signal (NES) is localized in this oligomerization domain.
V) The carboxy-terminus of p53 (356-393) contains 3 nuclear localization signals (NLS) and a non-specific DNA binding domain that binds to damaged DNA. This region is also involved in downregulation of DNA binding of the central domain.




The amino-terminus of p53

AD1: activation domain 1
AD2: activation domain 2
PRD: proline rich domain
NES: nuclear exclusion domain
HCD I: Highly Conserved Domain I


The carboxy-terminus of p53

Tetra (4D): oligomerization domain
AD2: activation domain 2
NEG: negative regulation domain
NES: nuclear exclusion domain
NLS: nuclear localization domain



Home | Our Work |p53 Info| p53 Database | p53 Link | Contact us